SCJC 10 June 2013 Paper 4.4B

Inner House User Group (IHUG)

On the back of a report by Lord Penrose, major reforms of Inner House procedure commenced on 5 April 2010 and again on 27 September 2011. An implementation group was established to drive forward and implement these changes, at a meeting of the implementation group on 13 December 2011 it was agreed that it would be useful if the implementation group could become a User Group. It would be chaired by Lord Menzies and would enable any emerging problems with the rules or other practices in Inner House cases to be drawn to the Court's attention and dealt with as and when they arose. It was envisaged that the Inner House Users Group would meet on a quarterly basis each term.

The remit of the group was agreed by the User Group at their first meeting on Tuesday 12 March 2013;

Remit; an informal forum, to exchange views, and flag problems that arose to be resolved in relation to practices and procedures of the Inner House.

The next meeting of the group is scheduled for Tuesday 16 July 2013. The membership of the group is noted below.

Lord Menzies, Chair
Gillian Prentice, Deputy Principal Clerk of Session, SCS
Elaine Dickson, Inner House Clerk
Robert Jenkins, Inner House Clerk
James Mure QC
Jonathon Barne, Advocate
Gordon Keyden, Simpson & Marwick
David McIntosh, Balfour & Manson
Alison Grant, DWF Biggart Baillie
Frances Beck, SGLD
Joy Atterbury, CLO, NHS
Catriona Whyte SLAB

Secretariat: Yvonne Anderson, Depute in Charge, Offices of the Court of Session